go main menu


Water Polo

Team water sport involving a ball. It is played by two teams consisting of 7 players (1 goalkeeper and 6 field players) in a rectangular pool. The maximum number of additional substitute players is 6. The game is divided into four periods, 8 minutes of actual playing time each. Countdown starts at the beginning of each period as soon as the player touches the ball.

Number of medal events : 2
  • Men

    • 16 Teams

    • [ Number of medal events : 1 ]
  • Women

    • 16 Teams

    • [ Number of medal events : 1 ]


History of water polo

The game originates from Scotland in the late 19th century as a sort of "water rugby". William Wilson is thought to have developed the game during the same era. Water polo evolved with the formation of the London Water Polo League and has since expanded, becoming widely popular in various places around the world, including Europe, the United States of America, Brazil, China, Canada and Australia.

Men's water polo at the Olympics was the first team sport introduced at the 1900 Games, along with cricket, rugby, football, polo (with horses) and tug of war. Women's water polo became an Olympic sport at the 2000 Sydney Olympic.

FINA History

Men’s water polo is a core part of the FINA World Championships since its first edition in 1973. Women's water polo was added in 1986. A second tournament series, the FINA Water Polo World Cup, has been held every other year since 1979. In 2002, FINA launched the sport's first premium tournament, offering substantial prize money, the FINA Water Polo World League.

Events : 2
Equipment : goal, ball, field layout
Gear : swimwear, caps
Competiton venue : JINWOL INTERNATIONAL TENNIS COURT(Temporary Pool)